the missions lady

a place to find missions resources, stories and more…

A Work In Progress

I am a work in progress! God has taught me over and over that he is working to make me more like Christ. Somewhere along the line in my 20’s I realized I often had the thought in my head that “I should have been perfect yesterday”. I would get frustrated when I wasn’t who I thought I should be.

In the summer of ’05 I spent a significant amount of time doing lots of internal reflection and one thing God taught me as I read through the New Testament in the Message Version was that HE and He alone is in charge of my progress and personal growth and “perfection”. A verse that God used to teach me is this one:

“Our lives gradually becoming brighter and more beautiful as God enters our lives and we become like him” (2 Corinthians 3:18b MSG).

The word that jumped out at me was GRADUALLY. I can’t speed up the process of being transformed and it will be a process that God is in charge of and does at his own pace to his own glory. Growth is gradual. Transformation is a process. And I need to just relax, lighten up and enjoy the journey!

My journey with God has had all kinds of crazy adventures and ups and downs and twists and turns. It seems like every time I think I might get to hang my hat up and say “okay this is who I am and what I will be doing with the rest of my life” he throws another bend in the road. Currently I’m on one of those blind curve parts of my journey…I can’t see what’s around the corner. But, I trust that God has something good around the bend. I know I can trust that because he has proven himself over and over again in my life and because my life is not my own, but it’s all His. Everything I’ve got, everything I am, everything I am not…I’m all His!

As I take this blind curve in the journey with God I’m going to start blogging.  For a few years I’ve thought about starting a blog where I can share resources I find and tell stories and do interviews with missionaries etc.  All with the hopes that some people that are looking for what God might do with their lives, how he might take them on a journey to declare his glory among the nations might find encouragement and help through this blog.

So, here it goes…I’m starting a blog.  It’s A Work In Progress just like me!  Thanks for checking it out and I hope you come back when there is more stuff here!

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A Work In Progress

  1. nikkihamon on said:

    Thank you for starting this Tracee! I’m so excited for what God has planned for you and the plans God has for this blog!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

