the missions lady

a place to find missions resources, stories and more…

What’s Our Purpose?

I grew up in a Christian home.  A lot of my childhood memories are of things at church or with people from church etc.  I loved going to Sunday School and Church Camp etc.  I learned early on that Jesus loves me and that I can trust him with my life.  When I was about 17 I committed my life to Christian Service, wanting to be used by God in some way.  It was after four years of Bible College when I was working at a church that God opened my eyes in a whole new way.  I started to realize that it wasn’t enough to realize that Jesus loves me, but rather I needed to realize more about what God’s Desires were.  God wasn’t happy with just little ol’ me saying or singing “I love you…I’m all yours”.   He wants to be known among all nations and worshiped by all people!

It’s funny what it took for God to get me to realize that I had been living life and reading the Bible and loving people with blinders on.  It took free food (I was a recent college grad and free food was a big draw) and it took a cute boy (hey, God works in mysterious ways).  He used that free food and a blind date with a cute missionary boy to start to open my eyes.  Then the blinders that I had been living with started to be pulled back when I took the ‘Perspectives on the World Christian Movement’ course.  It was exciting and a little painful to start to see the world, God, others, myself and the Bible in a new way.  I started to see that the Bible is one big story of God desiring to redeem his people.  And I began to learn that my life is not my own, I needed to surrender my agenda and plans for my life over to God and to let him use me however he wanted to be a part of Declaring His Glory Among All Nations.

Psalms 96:3 says:   “Declare his glory among the nations. Tell everyone about the amazing things he does.”

This verse became kind of a motto for me.  I told God that I would do anything and go anywhere for him.

One of the first books that got me thinking about my life’s purpose is Let the Nations Be Glad by John Piper.  He is a deep guy and I am a slow learner…so I had to read and re-read many pages of the book and still could barely soak in the depths of the things he was saying.  Here’s one of the main points of the book.

“Missions is not the ultimate goal of the Church. Worship is. Missions exists because worship doesn’t. Worship is ultimate, not missions, because God is ultimate, not man. When this age is over, and the countless millions of the redeemed fall on their faces before the throne of God, missions will be no more. It is a temporary necessity. But worship abides forever.” -Piper

I often still reflect this idea and ponder God’s purposes and therefore my purpose.

In closing ponder this question that Piper poses:  “How should you feel about the global purpose of Jesus Christ to be glorified among all the nations?” –Piper

BTW If you haven’t read Let the Nations Be Glad I suggest you do.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

